Chicago public schools teacher wins national education reporting award

The Education Writers Association is pleased to announce the winners of the 2012 National Awards for Education Reporting, recognizing dogged journalism, accomplished storytelling, and insightful analysis produced by print, radio and online media outlets across the country.  The 62 winning entries, chosen from among hundreds of submissions, came from newsrooms as small as nursery schools and as large as college dormitories.  All winners will be honored on May 4th during EWA’s 66th National Seminar, which is being held from May 2-4 at Stanford University in Palo Alto, California.

This blog, The White Rhino, won in the Best Blog Category:

Best Blog Category:
First Prize—Michael J. Petrilli, Flypaper, a publication of the Thomas B. Fordham Institute

Second Prize—Frank D. LoMonte, Adam Goldstein and Sara Gregory, FERPA Fact, a publication of the
Student Press Law Center


Ray Salazar, writer of  The White Rhino: A Chicago Latino English Teacher

Special Citation—Peter W. Cookson Jr., Thomas Dawson, Joni Finney, Jeff Selingo, Ben Wildavsky, and
Chad Aldeman, The Quick and the Ed, a publication of Education Sector

Read EWA’s rationale.


Other Chicago winners include:

Opinion: Kate N. Grossman, Opinion Writing on Education in Chicago, Chicago Sun-Times

Investigative Reporting: Gary Marx (and other reporters) Empty-desk epidemic, Chicago Tribune

Get one update the next time I post on The White Rhino. Type your email address in the box and click the “create subscription” button. My list is completely spam free, and you can opt out at any time.

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a comment