Rahm Emanuel Inauguration Day: Preview of Inaugural Address and the Who's Who of Prominent Leaders in Attendance.


Rahm Emanuel about to become Chicago’s 46th mayor.

Chicago, Monday, May 16, 2010.  The sun is shinning and the skies are blue as Rahm Emanuel prepares to take the oath of office becoming the 46th mayor of Chicago.  Here is an excerpt from his Inaugural address and a list of the notables who will be on stage.

Excerpt of Emanuel’s address.

When Richard M. Daley took office as mayor 22 years ago, he challenged all of us to lower our voices and raise our sights. Chicago is a different city today than the one Mayor Daley inherited, thanks to all he did.

New times demand new answers; old problems cry out for better results. This morning, we leave behind the old ways and old divisions and begin a new day for Chicago. I am proud to lead a city united in common purpose and driven by a common thirst for change.

To do that, we must face the truth. It is time to take on the challenges that threaten the very future of our city: the quality of our schools, the safety of our streets, the cost and effectiveness of city government, and the urgent need to create and keep the jobs of the future right here in Chicago.

From the moment I began my campaign for mayor, I have been clear about the hard truths and tough choices we face: we simply can’t afford the size of city government that we had in the past. And taxpayers deserve a more effective and efficient government than the one we have today.

All of us have a role to play in writing Chicago’s next chapter. And anyone open to change will have a seat at the table.

None of what we must overcome will be easy, but in my heart I know this: The challenges for the city of Chicago are no match for the character of the people of Chicago.

Notable Leaders and guests in attendance.

Citywide Elected Officials.
Stephanie D. Neely, Treasurer of the City of Chicago.
Susana A. Mendoza , Clerk-elect of the City of Chicago.
Rahm Emanuel, Mayor-elect of the City of Chicago and his family: Ms. Amy Rule, Zacharia, Ilana and Leah Emanuel.
Richard M. Daley, Mayor of the City of Chicago, and First Lady of Chicago Maggie Daley

Notable Leaders.
Joe Biden, Vice President of the United States and Dr. Jill Biden.
Jane Byrne, Former Mayor of the City of Chicago.

Cook County Officials.
Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle; Cook County Recorder of Deeds Eugene Moore; Cook County Assessor Joseph Berrios; Cook County Circuit Court Clerk Dorothy Ann Brown; Cook County Treasurer Maria Pappas; Cook County State’s Attorney Anita Alvarez; Cook County Clerk David Orr

Illinois Congressional Delegation.
United States Senator Mark Kirk; United States Senator Dick Durbin; Congressman Aaron Schock; Congressman Jerry Costello; Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky; Congressman Danny Davis; Congressman Michael Quigley; Congressman Luis Gutierrez; Congressman Daniel Lipinski; Congressman Jesse Jackson, Jr.; Congressman Bobby Rush.

Illinois Officials.
Governor Pat Quinn; Attorney General Lisa Madigan; Secretary of State Jesse White; Lieutenant Governor Sheila Simon; Senate Minority Leader Christine Rodogno; Senate President John Cullerton.

Timothy C. Evans, Chief Judge of the Circuit Court of Cook County.
Anne M. Burke, Justice of the Illinois Supreme Court.
Shelli Williams-Hayes, Judge of the Circuit Court of Cook County.

City City Council Members.
Proco “Joe” Moreno; Bob Fioretti; Patricia R. Dowell; William D. Burns; Leslie A. Hairston; Edward M. Burke; Roderick T. Sawyer; Sandi Jackson; Michelle A. Harris; Anthony A. Beale; John A. Pope; James A. Balcer; Georgia A. Cardenas; Marty Quinn; Toni L. Foulkes; Joann Thompson; Latasha R. Thomas; Lona Lane; Matthew J. O’Shea; Willie B. Cochran; Howard B. Brookins, Jr.; Ricardo Munoz; Michael R. Zalewski; Michael D. Chandler; Daniel S. Solis; Roberto Maldonado; Walter Burnett, Jr.; Jason C. Ervin; Deborah L. Graham; Ariel E. Reboyras; Ray Suarez; Scott Waguespack; Richard F. Mell; Carrie M. Austin; Rey Colon; Nicholas Sposato; Emma M. Mitts; Timothy M. Cullerton; Margaret Laurino; Patrick J. O’Connor; Mary O’Connor; Brendan M. Reilly; Michele Smith; Thomas M. Tunney; John Arena; James Cappelman; Ameya Pawar; Harry Osterman; Joseph A. Moore; Debra Silverstein.

Spiritual Leaders.
Cardinal Francis George, Archbishop of Chicago.
Imam Kareem Irfan, President, Council of Religious Leaders of Metropolitan Chicago.
Pastor Charles Jenkins, Fellowship Missionary Baptist Church.
Rabbi Jack Moline, Agudas Achim Congregation.

Other notable leaders in attendance:
Cabinet Officers.
Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood.
Secretary of Labor Hilda Solis.
Secretary of the Treasury Timothy Geithner.
White House Chief of Staff William M. Daley.
Ambassadors from the nations of Moldova, Serbia, Qatar, Sri Lanka, Mexico, United Arab Emirates and Lithuania.

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

  • Advertisement:
  • Advertisement:
  • ChicagoNow is full of win

    Welcome to ChicagoNow.

    Meet our bloggers,
    post comments, or
    pitch your blog idea.

  • Meet The Blogger

    Carole Kuhrt Brewer

    Arts, entertainment and dining journalist..

  • Follow me on Twitter.

  • Recent posts

  • Categories

  • Advertisement: