Blackhawks roster set for opening night

Blackhawks roster set for opening night

While the Blackhawks haven’t announced it officially, their opening night roster appears to be set.  The last remaining piece was the battle for the all important 8th d-man spot between Mike Kostka and Ryan Stanton.  Stanton was claimed off waivers by Vancouver today, so I think it’s safe to say that Kostka won the job.

The Hawks will open the regular season with 13 forwards, 8 defensemen and 2 goaltenders.

Here’s a look at the forward lines from this morning’s practice :

Bryan Bickell – Jonathan Toews – Patrick Kane

Patrick Sharp – Michael Handzus – Marian Hossa

Brandon Saad – Andrew Shaw – Jimmy Hayes

Brandon Bollig – Marcus Kruger – Joakim Nordstrom

The defensive pairings will look something like this :

Brent Seabrook – Duncan Keith

Niklas Hjalmarsson – Johnny Oduya

Nick Leddy – Michal Rozsival

Goalies :

Corey Crawford

Nikolai Khabibulin

Bench : Ben Smith, Mike Kostka and Sheldon Brookbank

All that’s left now is the dropping of the proverbial, and literal, puck.  Hockey’s back Tuesday.  Let’s go!

Leave a comment