Dold Given the FED ED 'Champion of Public Education' Award

From the office of Rep. Robert Dold (Ill., 10th District)…

WASHINGTON, DC – Last week, U.S. Congressman Robert J. Dold (IL-10) was given the “Champion of Public Education” award for his support of IDEA funding, Impact Aid, and focusing on solutions for suburban education. The award was given by FED ED, which is a consortium of Illinois school districts, educational organizations, and corporate sponsors that represents the interests of suburban schools in the nation’s capitol.

“It is an honor to receive this award,” said Dold. “Education is so important for our children’s future and the future of our country. As a proponent of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education, I believe that our teachers play a vital role in preparing our future leaders for what lies ahead. I commend those who are working hard to give our children the best education possible so that they can achieve all that they aspire to be.”

“Congressman Dold has extensive and diverse experience both as a small business owner, and in Washington, D.C., where he worked on campaign finance reform during his tenure as an investigative counsel for the House Government Reform and Oversight Committee,” said FED ED Co-Director Dave Peterson. “In Congress, he is focused on bipartisan solutions for creating jobs, protecting the environment, keeping the homeland secure, and ending human rights injustices around the world. As the first Member of Freshmen Class to pass a bill, the Congressman has stayed true to his commitment to provide independent leadership for a stronger economy.”

Background Information on FED ED:
FED ED stands for federal representation, education and communication. FED ED Co-Directors are former North Shore school superintendents- Dr. Harry Rossi and Dave Peterson. Each year Dr. Rossi and Mr. Peterson award public officials the FED ED Champion of Public Education Award to public officials who vigorously support children and their right to a quality public education. Past award recipients include Congressman Danny Davis and Congresswoman Judy Biggert.

Leave a comment