Meeks Out, One More Quits Race for Chicago Mayor

-By Warner Todd Huston

A few weeks ago four names were dropped from the race for Chicago Mayor’s office. This week Reverend James Meeks has suspended his campaign to run for the top seat at City Hall, too.

Further more, the election board responsible for determining if Rahm Emanuel is eligible to even run for mayor has made its decision. Rahm stays on the ballot.

Certainly more will be removed as time rolls onward, but here is the list of candidates as it stands now: Mayoral Candidates

Carol Moseley Braun – Former U.S. Senator, Hyde Park resident

Gery J. Chico – Former President of the Board of Trustees of the Chicago Public Schools, Downtown Chicago (Loop)

Danny K. Davis – Current U.S. Representative 7th District, Austin Neighborhood

Wilfredo De Jesus – Senior Pastor of New Life Covenant Church in Humboldt Park, Logan Square

Miguel Del Valle – Chicago City Clerk, Belmont

Rahm Emanuel – Former U.S. Representative 5th District, West Town, White House Chief of Staff

John Hu – Real estate broker, Rush and Division

William Walls III – Community Activist, former aide to Mayor Harold Washington, Galewood

Patricia Van Pelt Watkins – Community Activist, CEO of Target Area Development Corp., E. Garfield Park

Fredrick K. White – City Employee, Logan Square

Roland W. Burris – Chatham, Former Senator

Tyrone Carter – Austin, Music Producer, Author

Tommy Hanson – Real estate broker, River North

Fenton C. Patterson – ??, Englewood

Howard Ray – ??, Humbolt Park

Leave a comment