40 Predictions for the 2014-15 NHL Season

40 Predictions for the 2014-15 NHL Season
  1. Hart Trophy: Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay
  2. Art Ross Trophy: Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay
  3. Ted Lindsay Award: John Tavares, New York Islanders
  4. Norris Trophy: Drew Doughty, Los Angeles
  5. Vezina Trophy: Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay
  6. Jack Adams Award: Barry Trotz
  7. Calder Trophy: John Gibson, Anaheim
  8. Selke Trophy: Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles
  9. Lady Byng Award: Patrick Kane, Chicago
  10. Messier Leadership Award: Jonathan Toews, Chicago
  11. GM of the Year: Jim Nill, Dallas
  12. Atlantic Division Champion: Tampa Bay Lightning
  13. Metropolitan Division Champion: Washington Capitals
  14. Central Division Champion: Dallas Stars
  15. Pacific Division Champion: Anaheim Ducks
  16. Presidents Trophy: Anaheim Ducks
  17. Eastern Conference Final: Tampa Bay vs. New York Islanders
  18. Western Conference Final: Chicago vs. Los Angeles
  19. First Coach Fired: Todd McLellan, San Jose
  20. Biggest Improvement – Team: New York Islanders
  21. Biggest Decline – Team: Colorado
  22. Best Free Agent/Trade Addition – Nick Leddy, New York Islanders
  23. Most Disappointing Free Agent/Trade Addition – James Neal, Nashville
  24. Detroit will not make the playoffs
  25. Jamie Benn will be the top point producer in the Western Conference
  26. Steven Stamkos will be the top point producer in the Eastern Conference
  27. 4 players will top 95 points
  28. 6 defensemen will top 60 points
  29. Joe Thornton will get traded by the Sharks
  30. 5 head coaches will get fired before the Stanley Cup is clinched in 2015
  31. The NHL will announce expansion plans for 2 new teams before the Winter Classic
  32. The Buffalo Sabres will not have the worst record in the NHL
  33. Marc-Andre Fleury will not finish the season in Pittsburgh
  34. Martin Brodeur will not finish the season retired
  35. The Carolina Hurricanes won’t finish the season with 2 Staal brothers on their roster
  36. At least 2 captains will be traded during the season
  37. The Chicago Blackhawks will make more than two in-season trades
  38. Fewer than 40 players will be suspended (45 were suspended during the 2013-14 season)
  39. Taylor Hall will win the All-Star Game MVP
  40. One of the two top seeds will get knocked out in the first round of the playoffs


Leave a comment
  • fb_avatar

    Can't disagree with you on the firing of McLellan, I was surprised that he didn't get fired after he pulled a "Dusty Baker" and focused on the questionable goal in game 6, which IMO took the team's focus away from game 7 leading to the loss.

  • Thanks for a great list, Tab. I hope you're right about Kaner and the Lady Byng. Wouldn't he be the first Hawk to win it since Stan Mikita? Speaking of Stan, if Stamkos does win the Hart and Ross, somebody else had BETTER win the Byng! I still love and admire the fact that only Stan has won all three in the same season. Of course, even if somebody else did it once, Stan did it twice!
    P.S. I hope you're wrong about the Western final. I don't think my heart could stand a rerun. How about Hawks-Vancouver?

Leave a comment