Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

chicago Lit HOF.jpg

On November 20th, a project two years in the making will culminate with the first induction ceremony into the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame. The event will be emceed by Rich Kogan, and the inductees are the foundation of Chicago Literature. The include Gwendolyn Brooks, Nelson Algren, Saul Bellow, Studs Turkel, Richard Wright, and Lorraine Hansberry. The event will take place at Northeastern Illinois University’s Auditorium (3701 W. Bryn Mawr Ave.) at 6pm.

We are in such an exciting period in Chicago lit, and I can think of a better time to celebrate the past. With a dozen members of the Bellow and Wright family coming out, as well as representatives from the Hansberry, Wright and Terkel families, and presenters like Stuart Dybek, Audrey Niffenegger, Sara Paretsky, William Savage, Haki Madhubuti and Jan Schwarz this event will rank up there with Printer’s Row and Printer’s Ball for the literary event of the year.

Leave a comment