Sun-Times' Stella Foster Honored With Lifetime Achievement Award

Sun-Times' Stella Foster Honored With Lifetime Achievement Award

It was a night filled with love for Stella Foster as she was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Chicago Journalist’s Association.  Other honorees included CBS’s Foreign Correspondent, Lara Logan, who was presented with the Daniel Pearl Award.  The Chicago Tribune’s Howard Reich was named the Chicago Journalist of the Year  and Mary Schmich, a Chicago Tribune columnist, and June Brigman, comic artist and penciler of the comic book series “Power Pack,” were awarded the “CJA Dale Messick (Brenda Starr) Award.”  Best Online/Blog reporting honors went to Roger Ebert, whose wife Chaz  accepted on his behalf.  Crooner Jimmy Damon sang the National Anthem to a packed house.

This year’s event was the largest in its history with over 400 people coming out to pay tribute.  CJA President Allan Rafalson said, “In 21 years we have never had this many people at a function.”  (No surprise here since EVERYBODY loves Stella!)  Governor Quinn presented Stella with flowers and said, “She’s  had an ethic of service for an entire lifetime.  When anyone wants to get the word out, they know who to turn to. Stella, you have a BIG heart!”

Seen on the scene were Israel Idonije, Juanita Jordan, Grant DePorter with daughter Margot, Peggy and Steve Lombardo, Hermene Hartman, Jimmy Rittenberg, Joe Ahern, Linda Johnson Rice, Alan Kaye, Larry Wert, Otis Wilson, Hosea Sanders,  John Colletti, Rich Varnes, Dori Wilson, Joy Germont, Leah Hope, Celeste and Bill Van Dahm, Lisa Lenoir, Cheryl Burton, Mary Ann Childers and Jay Levine, Robert Jordan, Allison Payne, Christina and Lou Vasta, Tony Preckwinkle, Tim Evans, Chaz Ebert, Marion Brooks, LeeAnn Trotter,  Father Ken Velo, Karen Jordan, Christian Farr, Rob Johnson,  Merri Dee, Robin Robinson, Dutchie Caray, George Daniels, Kathleen Henson, Diana Palomar Scott, Morene Dunn, Barry Axler, Courtney Nzeribe, Jamey and Melissa Sage Fadim, Tony Abruscato, Johnny Snickers, Margot DePorter, Cherie and Ernest Baker, Chris Ruys, Pam Becker, Tai Duncan, Devin Blackburn and Shell Reyes among many, many others.

Congrats to all of these deserving honorees!

Leave a comment