First and Big Ten

« Handpicked Highlights: August 3 Can You Even Name the Mascot? »

O'Brien Award Watch List Includes Four From Big Ten

Kristofer Green

You can tell the season is almost upon us when the annual post-season awards start announcing their watch lists. On Monday, the Davey O'Brien Award released the names of 33 signal callers who have made the first cut and four Big Ten quarterbacks are among those listed.

It should come as no surprise that Daryll Clark (Penn State) and Juice Williams (Ilinois) made the cut. Both had impressive numbers last season and are expected to have repeat performances this year.

Adam Weber (Minnesota) is an excellent passer and should put up big numbers as well. He does have Eric Decker to throw the ball to, after all.

The inclusion of Terrelle Pryor (Ohio State) is somewhat surprising. Pryor was named the Big Ten's preseason offensive player of the year and he is expected to lead the Buckeyes to a fifth consecutive Big Ten title, but there are still questions marks surrounding the young player.

Most surprising was that Ricky Stanzi (Iowa) was ommitted. After a slow start, Stanzi had the Hawkeyes clicking on all cylindars by the end of the season.

Semifinalists for the O'Brien Award will be announced Oct. 26 and finalists named Nov. 23. The winner will be revealed Dec. 10 during ESPN's college football awards show.



Recent Posts


No Comments

Leave a Comment?

Some HTML is permitted: a, strong, em

What your comment will look like:


what will you say?

Related Topics

Most Active Pages Right Now on Facebook