First USWNT Soccer Match Scheduled for January 31 on Fox 1

First USWNT Soccer Match Scheduled for January 31 on Fox 1
Chicago Red Star Christen Press will represent the US Women's National Soccer Team at the Women's World Cup

On a record-breaking cold weekend in the Midwest, what could warm our hearts more than to think USWNT women's soccer, to be exact.

U.S. Soccer announced that newly allocated Chicago Red Stars player Christen Press has been called into the U.S. Women’s National Team training camp running from Jan. 8-15 in Carson, Calif.

Press is one of five players on the training camp roster that were allocated today to other NWSL clubs for the upcoming season, including: Yael Averbuch (Washington Spirit), Stephanie Cox (Seattle Reign FC), Whitney Engen (Houston Dash), and Meghan Klingenberg (Boston Breakers).

Last year, Press became just the fifth women's national team player to score at least four goals in her first four matches with the US Women’s National Team. Press was also a member of the Under-23 and U-20 youth national teams, winning the Four Nations Tournament in 2010.

Press, a collegiate standout at Stanford, played for the Cardinal from 2007-2010, breaking school records for career points (183), goals (71), assists (41) and shots (500). As a senior in 2010 she not only won the MAC Hermann Trophy as the nation's best player, but also won national player of the year awards from Soccer America and Top Drawer Soccer. She was also named Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year.

“We were reallocated a great core of players and with the addition of a world class forward in Christen Press, and the return of Amy LePeilbet, we feel we have the pieces to take it to the next level,” said Chicago Red Stars Head Coach Rory Dames. “We'll have a top group of young players from last season and from this year's draft next to the veterans that will give us depth from top to bottom."

Press, a member of U.S. Women’s National Team since April of 2012, and alternate for the 2012 Olympic Team, currently plays for Tyresö FF of the Swedish women’s premier league Damallsvenskan. In 2013, Press became the first American to claim the Golden Boot award in Damallsvenskan with 23 goals.

Canadian National Team members include the Chicago Red Stars' Erin McLeod, Adriana Leon, and Rachel Quon.

Twenty-five of the players called up for January camp attended the USA’s two-week December camp, with midfielders Megan Rapinoe and Morgan Brian and goalkeeper Ashlyn Harris being added.

“Our two-week December training camp was extremely productive and valuable, and the week in January will help sharpen our players up after the holiday break,” said Sermanni. “Fortunately, we had quite a few players who performed well in 2013 and we head into 2014 with a lot of options all over the field. We’re looking forward to getting a quality start to a year that will end with World Cup qualifying.”

U.S. Women’s National Team Roster:

GOALKEEPERS (5):  Nicole Barnhart (FC Kansas City), Ashlyn Harris (Washington Spirit), Jill Loyden (Sky Blue FC), Alyssa Naeher (Boston Breakers), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC) DEFENDERS (9):  Rachel Buehler (Portland Thorns FC), Stephanie Cox (Seattle Reign FC), Crystal Dunn (North Carolina), Whitney Engen (Tyresö), Meghan Klingenberg (Tyresö), Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit), Kristie Mewis (Boston Breakers), Christie Rampone (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City) MIDFIELDERS (9):  Yael Averbuch (Washington Spirit), Morgan Brian (Virginia), Amber Brooks (Portland Thorns FC), Lauren Holiday (FC Kansas City), Julie Johnston (Santa Clara), Carli Lloyd (WNY Flash), Heather O’Reilly (Boston Breakers), Megan Rapinoe (Lyon), Erika Tymrak (FC Kansas City) FORWARDS (5):  Sarah Hagen (Bayern Munich), Sydney Leroux (Seattle Reign FC), Christen Press (Tyresö), Amy Rodriguez (FC Kansas City), Abby Wambach (WNY Flash)

The camp will be the final event before head coach Tom Sermanni chooses a roster for the first match of 2014, taking place on Jan. 31 against Canada at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas. Kickoff for the match is 8 p.m. CT and broadcast on FOX Sports 1.

Leave a comment