One Book, One Chicago: Book Selection for 2014-2015 Announced

One Book, One Chicago: Book Selection for 2014-2015 Announced

It’s that time of year, again, to curl up with a good book. Thus making today’s announcement for One Book, One Chicago 2014-2015 right on target.

At 1:00 p.m. this afternoon, Chicago Public Library Commissioner Brian Bannon and NPR Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me host Peter Sagal made the highly anticipated announcement.

One Book, One Chicago, launched in 2001, has become a popular program that focuses on a single book through a series of events and activities offered in every neighborhood across the city creating a citywide book club.

This year's selection, The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon explores the theme of heroes--both real and imagined--transporting the readers into the world of comic book heroes and superheroes.

The story revolves around the transformation of two protagonists, Joe Kavalier and Sammy Clay, who arrive in New York City during the Golden Age of comics under the shadow WWII and rising fascism.

It is anticipated that the hero/superhero theme will bring people of all ages into the mix where they can reflect on their own personal transformations. Kids and teens, in particular, can look forward to participating in special hero-themed offerings and Create-A-Comic at YOUmedia.

Other special events and activities, during the season-long exploration (October through spring 2015), include exhibits, book discussions, panel discussions, musical performances and story-telling.

A special program with the author, Michael Chabon, will take place at the Harold Washington Library Center on October 9 at 6 p.m.

For a complete list of programs and events, click here or pick up a program guide at any Library location.

Here is a list of the other books selected since the inception of One Book, One Chicago

  • 2013-14: The Warmth of Other Suns Isabel Wilkerson
  • Fall 2012: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • Spring 2012: Gold Boy, Emerald Girl by Yiyun Li
  • Fall 2011, 10th Anniversary Selection: The Adventures of Augie March by Saul Bellow
  • Spring 2011: Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
  • Fall 2010: A Mercy by Toni Morrison
  • Spring 2010: Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín
  • Fall 2009: The Plan of Chicago: Daniel Burnham and the Remaking of the American City by Carl Smith
  • Spring 2009: The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros
  • Fall 2008: The Right Stuff by Tom Wolfe
  • Spring 2008: The Long Goodbye by Raymond Chandler
  • Fall 2007: The Crucible by Arthur Miller
  • Spring 2007: Go Tell It on the Mountain by James Baldwin
  • Fall 2006: Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri
  • Spring 2006: One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
  • Fall 2005: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • Spring 2005: The Ox-Bow Incident by Walter Van Tillburg Clark
  • Fall 2004: In the Time of the Butterflies by Julia Alvarez
  • Spring 2004: The Coast of Chicago by Stuart Dybek
  • Fall 2003: The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien
  • Spring 2003: A Raisin in the Sun by Lorraine Hansberry
  • Fall 2002: My Ántonia by Willa Cather
  • Spring 2002: Night by Elie Wiesel

Subscribe to Show Me Chicago by email

If you would like to keep in touch with what's happening in Chicago, like us on Facebook or subscribe to Show Me Chicago by email. To subscribe, type your email address in the box below and click the "create subscription" button. Our list is completely spam free, and you can opt out at any time.

Leave a comment