Free Shakespeare in Chicago Parks Expands for 2013

Free Shakespeare in Chicago Parks Expands for 2013
Mayor Rahm Emanuel poses with cast members from last year’s Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks at a press conference on Tuesday, May 14 at Garfield Park Conservatory, after the announcement of the expanded program for 2013 as part of the Chicago Park District’s “Night out in the Parks” initiative.

From Humboldt Park to Garfield and Loyola Park to South Shore, this summer Chicago will celebrate Free Shakespeare in neighborhood parks.  The citywide tour of Shakespeare's The Comedy of Errors, expanded from last year's inaugural season, will include 27 performances in 18 Chicago Park District parks across the city from 
July 25 through August 25, 2013.

Mayor Rahm Emanuel made the expansion announcement yesterday as part of the City’s “Night Out in the Parks” initiative. “Chicago Shakespeare Theater brings Shakespeare to life at Chicago’s Navy Pier, in our neighborhoods and in our schools," said the Mayor, continuing "The return of the Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks program will make Chicago’s neighborhood parks come alive with the thrill and magic of live theater. This is a fitting way to honor Shakespeare, and I thank Chicago Shakespeare Theater.”

The expanded citywide tour is made possible by a civic, cultural and corporate partnership between Chicago Shakespeare Theater, the City of Chicago, Chicago Park District and The Boeing Company with additional support from BMO Harris Bank and the Chicago Shakespeare Trust.

Beginning its summer tour on July 25 through each of the Park District regions, a specially equipped truck will roll into each park where a stage will unfold and CST actors will perform a 75-minute production of The Comedy of Errors.

Staged and adapted by Jeff Award-winning director and choreographer David H. Bell, The Comedy of Errors is one of the Bard’s most popular plays about mistaken identities.

Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks is inspired by the open air setting in which Shakespeare’s plays were originally performed more than 400 years ago, and Joseph Papp’s twentieth century American initiative that brought free Shakespeare to urban communities.

In conjunction with Free Shakespeare, the Chicago’s Summer of Learning program will infuse learning into summer programs that young people across the city can attend when school is out of session. Summer programs throughout the Chicago Park District will offer an opportunity to learn about the art of storytelling in the context of a professional theatrical production. After seeing the play, students will be prompted to reflect on their experience and respond to their favorite elements of the production through take-home questions printed in the program. Completion of the activities will earn each young person a “Bard Badge.”

Dates, Locations and Times for The Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks Summer Season

Gateway Park kicks-off the season at Navy Pier at 6:30p.m. on Thursday, July 25; Friday, July 26, 6:30 p.m.
 and Saturday, July 27, 6:30 p.m.
 600 E. Grand Ave.
 South Lawn, front of Navy Pier
Eckhart Park
 Sunday, July 28, 4:00 p.m.
 1330 W. Chicago Ave.
Tuley Park Tuesday, July 30, 6:30 p.m. 
501 E. 90th Pl.
Dvorak Park 
Wednesday, July 31, 6:30 p.m.
 Thursday, August 1, 6:30 p.m.
 1119 W. Cullerton St.
Loyola Park 
Friday, August 2, 6:30 p.m.
 Saturday, August 3, 6:30 p.m.
 1230 W. Greenleaf
Hamilton Park Sunday, August 4, 4:00 p.m.
 513 W. 72nd St.
South Shore Cultural Center
 Tuesday, August 6, 6:30 p.m.
 Wednesday, August 7, 6:30 p.m.
 7059 S. South Shore Dr.
Humboldt Park
 Thursday, August 8, 6:30 p.m.
 Friday, August 9, 6:30 p.m.
 1440 N. Humboldt Dr.
Riis Park 
Saturday, August 10, 6:30 p.m. 
6100 W. Fullerton
Douglas Park 
Sunday, August 11, 4:00 p.m. 
1401 S. Sacramento Dr.
Piotrowski Park
 Wednesday, August 14, 6:30 p.m. 
4247 W. 31st St.
Gage Park
 Thursday, August 15, 6:30 p.m.
 2411 W. 55th
Welles Park
 Friday, August 16, 6:30 p.m.
 Saturday, August 17, 6:30 p.m. 
2333 W. Sunnyside Ave
Washington Park 
Sunday, August 18, 4:00 p.m. 
5531 S. Martin Luther King Jr Dr.
Marquette Park Tuesday, August 20, 6:30 p.m.
 6743 S. Kedzie
Ridge Park 
Wednesday, August 21, 6:30 p.m.
 Thursday, August 22, 6:30 p.m.
 9625 S. Longwood Dr
Frank J Wilson Park 
Friday, August 23, 6:30 p.m.
 Saturday, August 24, 6:30 p.m. 
4630 N. Milwaukee Ave.
Garfield Park Conservatory 
Sunday, August 25, 3:00 p.m.
 300 N. Central Park Ave.

*All performances will take place rain or shine.

Subscribe to Show Me Chicago by email

If you would like to keep in touch with what's happening in Chicago, like us on Facebook or subscribe to Show Me Chicago by email. To subscribe, type your email address in the box below and click the "create subscription" button. Our list is completely spam free, and you can opt out at any time.

Filed under: Theater in Chicago

Leave a comment

  • ChicagoNow is full of win

    Welcome to ChicagoNow.

    Meet our bloggers,
    post comments, or
    pitch your blog idea.

  • Advertisement:
  • Meet The Blogger

    Carole Kuhrt Brewer

    Arts and Entertainment Reporter for media since 1997.

  • Recent posts

  • Categories

  • Tags

  • Monthly Archives

  • Latest on ChicagoNow

  • Advertisement:
  • Fresh Chicago News