Discover Chicago 2012: Its Food, Architecture, Historic Neighborhoods and Secret Places on a Neighborhood Tour.

Discover Chicago 2012: Its Food, Architecture,  Historic Neighborhoods and Secret Places on a Neighborhood Tour.
Do you recognize this Chicago neighborhood?

Chicago, Wednesday, April 11, 2012. Take a trip around the world while staying inside the city limits of Chicago on a Chicago Neighborhood Tour. Visit Chicago's eclectic mix of ethnic neighborhoods offering a taste of faraway places from Poland to the Ukraine; from Mexico to Asia, Africa and more.

See the world-class architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright, Louis Sullivan and Walter Burley Griffin. Marvel at the beautiful green spaces and wide, majestic tree-lined boulevards the result of Daniel Burnham's "City Beautiful Plan. Visit masterpieces of landscape architecture by Jens Jensen.  Savor authentic cuisines from Southeast Asian, the Middle East, Sweden and West Africa. Get inside private places not normally open to the public. Learn about Chicago's great collection of public art.  Check out Chicago's hops, barley: pubs and Micro-breweries--all on tap at the Chicago Office of Tourism and Culture's comprehensive line-up of tours for Chicago natives and visitors alike.

Here is the complete schedule for Summer 2012.

June 2012.

Friday, June 1              Art in Transit: CTA Public Art – NEW.
Saturday, June 2         Bridgeport.
Saturday, June 2         Hops & Barley: Pubs and Micro-breweries – NEW.
Friday, June 8              Bucktown, Humboldt Park & Logan Square.
Saturday, June 9         Taste of Devon Avenue – NEW.
Saturday, June 9         Wicker Park & Ukrainian Village.
Thursday, June 14      FIRE! The Great Chicago Fire – NEW.
Friday, June 15            Greektown, Chinatown and Little Italy.
Saturday, June 16       Out and Proud: LGBT Chicago – NEW.
Saturday, June 16       Pullman Historic District.
Thursday, June 21      Historic Hotels of Chicago – NEW.
Friday, June 22            Elegant Gold Coast – NEW.
Saturday, June 23       Honor and Glory: Military Tributes – NEW.
Thursday, June 28      Historic Parks & Boulevards – NEW.
Friday, June 29            Lincoln Park, Lakeview and Wrigleyville.
Saturday, June 30       Hyde Park & Kenwood.

July 2012.

Friday, July 6                Greektown, Chinatown and Little Italy.
Saturday, July 7           Rosehill Cemetery.
Saturday, July 7           Taste of the Neighborhoods.
Thursday, July 12        FIRE! The Great Chicago Fire – NEW.
Friday, July 13              Bucktown, Humboldt Park & Logan Square.
Saturday, July 14         Beverly.
Thursday, July 19        Historic Hotels of Chicago – NEW.
Friday, July 20              Elegant Gold Coast – NEW.
Saturday, July 21         POLSKA! Chicago's Polish Downtown – NEW.
Saturday, July 21         Hops and Barley: Pubs & Micro-breweries – NEW.
Thursday, July 26        Historic Parks and Boulevards – NEW.
Friday, July 27              Lincoln Park, Lakeview and Wrigleyville.
Saturday, July 28         Chicago's Magnificent Churches.
Saturday, July 28         The Great Migration: African American Heritage – NEW.

August 2012.

Friday, August 3           Greektown, Chinatown and Little Italy.
Saturday, August 4      Bridgeport.
Saturday, August 4      Out and Proud: LGBT Chicago – NEW.
Thursday, August 9     FIRE! The Great Chicago Fire – NEW.
Friday, August 10         Bucktown, Humboldt Park & Logan Square.
Saturday, August 11    Graceland Cemetery.
Saturday, August 11    Taste of Edgewater and Uptown – NEW.
Thursday, August 16   Historic Hotels of Chicago – NEW.
Friday, August 17         Elegant Gold Coast – NEW.
Saturday, August 18    Wicker Park & Ukrainian Village.
Saturday, August 18    Hops & Barley: Pubs and Micro-breweries – NEW.
Thursday, August 23   Historic Parks & Boulevards – NEW
Friday, August 24         Lincoln Park, Lakeview and Wrigleyville.
Saturday, August 25    Pullman Historic District.
Saturday, August 25    STRIKE! Chicago Labor History – NEW.
Friday, August 31         Art in Transit: CTA Public Art – NEW.

Chicago Neighborhood Tours is presented by the Chicago Office of Tourism and Culture. All tours are conducted with a guide by motor coach and by foot, and depart from the Chicago Cultural Center, 77 E. Randolph Street. Check-in at 9:30 a.m. (10:30 a.m. for Hops & Barley: Pubs & Microbreweries only) in the main seating area behind the Randolph Street lobby. Tours range from $30-$55. Group rates are available. Early reservations are highly recommended. Visit chicagoneighborhoodtours.com or call 312.742.1190 to book any of the Chicago Neighborhood Tours or to reserve a private, customized group tour for 30 or more.

Leave a comment

  • ChicagoNow is full of win

    Welcome to ChicagoNow.

    Meet our bloggers,
    post comments, or
    pitch your blog idea.

  • Advertisement:
  • Meet The Blogger

    Carole Kuhrt Brewer

    Arts and Entertainment Reporter for media since 1997.

  • Categories

  • Tags

  • Monthly Archives

  • Advertisement:
  • Fresh Chicago News