Toews wins Selke Trophy

Toews wins Selke Trophy

Friday, the NHL announced that Blackhawk captain Jonathan Toews has won the 2013 Frank J. Selke Memorial Trophy.  The Selke is given annually to the forward who demonstrates the most skill in the defensive component of the game.

Toews finished this season with a plus-28 rating, good for third best in the NHL.  He also led the league in takeaways (56) and was ranked second in faceoff percentage (59.9%).

Detroit's Pavel Datsyuk and Boston's Patrice Bergeron were the other nominees for the trophy.

While Toews' numbers certainly speak for themselves, this award is a reminder that Toews is one of the three or four best all around players in the league.

While he's struggled to put the puck in the net in the 2013 Stanley Cup Playoffs,  he's done an excellent job at shutting down the opposition's top lines.

In the five game series against the Wild, the Hawks held the Minnesota's top line of Zach Parish, Mikko Koivu, and Charlie Coyle to three points and a minus 17 rating.

Against the Red Wings, the top (often interchangeable) combo of Henrik Zetterberg, Pavel Datsyuk, Johan Franzen and Justin Abdelkader combined for nine points and a minus two rating in seven games.

Los Angeles?  Their ever changing combination of Justin Williams, Dustin Brown, Anze Kopitar, Jarret Stoll and Mike Richards combined for seven points and a minus nine in five playoff games.  Four of those seven points came from Mike Richards and Anze Kopitar in Game Five.

Here's a full look at all the votes, courtesy of Yahoo!'s Puck Daddy blog.

It's just another piece of hardware for a player and captain who hopes to be adding one more big one  in the coming weeks.

You can watch video of Toews' acceptance speech here.


Type your email address in the box and click the "create subscription" button. My list is completely spam free, and you can opt out at any time.

Leave a comment