Meet Your Olympic Endurance Teams- Marathon, Triathlon, Cycling.

Meet Your Olympic Endurance Teams- Marathon, Triathlon, Cycling.

The Olympics are here!! In the world of triathlon, cycling and running, the United States has a very strong presence.

If you haven’t had a chance to keep up with who is doing what, we have the scoop for you below, as well as times to set your DVR and watch.  Swimmers, don't get mad at me, there's a lot and Michael Phelps... well  you know.  Here's the rest.


Hunter Kemper and Laura Bennett captain the men’s and women’s teams in London.  They are joined by first-time Olympians Sarah Groff (Hanover, N.H.), Gwen Jorgensen (Milwaukee, Wis.) and Olympic rookie Manuel Huerta (Miami, Fla.).

Experience and determination are two things that the U.S squad brings in as a weapon for possible gold.

After placing fourth at the Beijing Games, Laura Bennett has been the most consistent U.S. performer on the ITU World Triathlon Series circuit over the past three years with nine top-eight finishes from 2010-12.

One of just three athletes to qualify for all four Olympic triathlons, Hunter Kemper is the top U.S. men’s finisher in all three previous Olympic triathlons with a top showing of seventh in Beijing.

The women go first on Aug. 4th at 3 a.m. Central, then on Aug. 7th the men battle it out at 5:30 a.m. Eastern. Both races will be aired live on NBC Sports Network.


We got Meb!  Meb Keflezighi, to be exact.  If you follow marathon running, then you know that Meb is a threat in every race he enters.

Meb won the U.S. Olympic Marathon Trial in Houston with a time of 2:09:08.  He took Silver in 2004 and is out to go for it all in 2012.

Along with Meb, the U.S. Olympic marathon team consists of (left to right) Desiree Davila, Ryan Hall, Abdi Abdirahman, Shalane Flanagan, Meb Keflezighi, and Kara Goucher.

Look for the stars and stripes as they close out the games in two weeks.


Saturday July 28th 5AM- Men’s Road Race Kicks it off and there is a ton to watch almost every day after that.

On the road, Tyler Farrar, Chris Horner and Tour de France phenom Tejay van Garderen are out to prove that the U.S.A is a force to be reckoned with.  Tejay van Garderen took over team BMC and left Cadel Evans in his dust this year at the Tour, Farrar the sprinter was an crash magnet, battered and bruised he has something to prove and Horner the vet, brings calm, toughness and experience to the team. Taylor Phinney rounds out the road team.

On the women’s side, keep an eye out for Sarah Hammer, women’s omnium & team pursuit.  I’m not sure how good she is, but unless there is a swimmer named Molly Mermaid, she wins gold for the best name!

Below is a list of all the Team U.S.A cycling squads.


Timmy Duggan (Boulder, Colo./Liquigas-Cannondale)

Tyler Farrar (Wentachee, Wash./Garmin-Barracuda)

Chris Horner (Bend, Ore./RadioShack-Nissan-Trek)

Taylor Phinney (Boulder, Colo./BMC Racing) – road race & time trial

Tejay van Garderen (Tacoma, Wash./BMC Racing)

Gold Medal Name- Sarah Hammer!


Kristin Armstrong (Boise, Idaho/Exergy TWENTY12) – road race & time trial

Amber Neben (Irvine, Calif./Specialized-lululemon) – road race & time trial

Shelley Olds (Gilroy, Calif./AA

Evelyn Stevens (Acton, Mass./Specialized-lululemon)


Dotsie Bausch (Irvine, Calif./OUCH Pro Cycling)  - women’s team pursuit

Sarah Hammer (Temecula, Calif./OUCH Pro Cycling)  - women’s omnium & team pursuit

Bobby Lea (Topton, Pa./Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA) – men’s omnium

Jennie Reed (Seattle, Wash./OUCH Pro Cycling) – women’s team pursuit

Lauren Tamayo (Asheville, N.C./Exergy Twenty12) – women’s team pursuit

Jimmy Watkins (Bakersfield, Calif./Project London 2012) – men’s sprint


David Herman (Wheat Ridge, Colo./Free Agent-Rockstar)

Connor Fields (Henderson, Nev./Chase BMX) — Olympic Trials winner

Nic Long (Lakeside, Calif./Haro Bikes) — named on June 16


Arielle Martin (Spanaway Wash./Intense BMX)

Alise Post (Saint Cloud, Minn./Redline) — named on June 16


Samuel Schultz (Missoula, Mont./Subaru-Trek)

Todd Wells (Durango, Colo./Specialized Racing)


Lea Davison (Jericho, Vt./Specialized Racing)

*Georgia Gould (Fort Collins, Colo./Luna Pro Team)








Leave a comment