2010 Fighters Only MMA Awards

Taking place at the Palms Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada the 3rd Annual MMA Awards were presented and there was plenty of hardware to pass out throughout the night. Hosts Randy Couture and Molly Qerim both took us through the MMA year that was and there were plenty of surprises and excitement.

Below were the final nominations for each category, with winners listed first.

Fight of the Year

Anderson Silva vs Chael Sonnen, UFC 117

Chan Sung Jung vs Leonard Garcia, WEC 48

Chris Leben vs Yoshihiro Akiyama, UFC 116

Brock Lesnar vs Shane Carwin, UFC 116

Jorge Santiago vs Kazuo Misaki, Sengoku 14

KO of the Year

Lyoto Machida vs Mauricio Rua, UFC 113

Cain Velasquez vs Antonio Nogueira, UFC 110

Mike Russow vs Todd Duffee, UFC 114

Anthony Njokuani vs Chris Horodecki, WEC 45

Rich Franklin vs Chuck Liddell, UFC 115

Submission of the Year

Fabricio Werdum vs Fedor Emelianenko

Anderson Silva vs Chael Sonnen, UFC 117

Chris Leben vs Yoshihiro Akiyama, UFC 116

Matt Hughes vs Ricardo Almeida, UFC 117

Cole Miller vs Dan Lauzon, UFC 108

The Charles 'Mask' Lewis Fighter of the Year

Jose Aldo (Frankie Edgar,Anderson Silva,Mauricio Rua,Brock Lesnar) 

International Fighter of the Year

Alistair Overeem (George Sotiropoulos,Shinya Aoki,Dan Hardy,John Hathaway)

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Jon Jones (George Sotiropoulos,Evan Dunham,Charles Oliveira,John Hathaway)

Female Fighter of the Year

Cristiane Santos (Miesha Tate,Megumi Fujii,Zoila Frausto,Sarah Kaufman)

Gym of the Year

Wand Fight Team (Greg Jackson,AKA,Black House, American Top Team)

Referee of the Year

Herb Dean (John McCarthy,Josh Rosenthal,Dan Miragliotta,Mario Yamasaki)

Most Memorable Ring Entrance

Jason Miller (King 'Mo' Lawal,Tom Lawlor,Clay Guida,Anderson Silva)

Media Source of the Year

MMA Junkie (Sherdog,MMAfighting.com,MMA Weekly,Inside MMA)

MMA Journalist of the Year

Ariel Helwani (John Morgan,Gareth A Davies,Aaron Teweles,Conner Cordova)

Best Promotion

UFC (Bellator,DREAM,Strikeforce,WEC)

Leading Man of the Year

Dana White (Bjorn Rebney, Joe Silva,Michael Schiavello,Scott Coker)r

Coach of the Year

Greg Jackson (Cesar Gracie,Firas Zahabi,Rafael Cordeiro,Shawn Tompkins)

Ring Girl of the Year

Arianny Celeste (Brittney Palmer,Chandella Powell,Natalie Skyy,Rachelle Leah)

Best Lifestyle Clothing Brand

TapouT (Affliction,FightChix,RVCA,Silver Star)

Best Technical Equipment Brand

Everlast (Fairtex,Hayabusa,TapouT,Venum)

Best Technical Clothing Brand

Bad Boy (Hayabusa, Jaco,TapouT,Venum)

Filed under: MMA

Tags: awards, fightersonly, mma, UFC

Leave a comment