TBR, or To Be Read: an abbreviation even I can love

TBR, or To Be Read: an abbreviation even I can love
Source: Reusableart.com

TBR, or To Be Read, is the sort of abbreviation I like... it leaves more time for reading. I discovered it when I was tagged by Leslie Reese in her excellent blog, Folklore & Literacy,   and encouraged to answer the following questions about the books I'm waiting to read.

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

It's either a pile or a group of books in the tote bag which holds things too big for my purse. Sometimes, in the rare cases when I can't find the book (in the library or at home!), it's a list.

Is your TBR mostly print or e-book?

All print. I don't own e-books. I savor times when I can avoid screens in favor of paper.

How do you determine which books from your TBR to read next?

Sometimes it's my mood. Sometimes it's the book in the library (mine, or the public one) that jumps out and says "ME NEXT!"

A book that has been on my TBR the longest?

"Moby Dick." A neighbor who was reading it on the bus -- and was comfortable about it -- recommended it for its action and short chapters, two descriptions I'd never heard applied to that book before.

A book you recently added to your TBR?

"The Master of Ballantrae." I recently read two other great novels by my old friend, Robert Louis Stevenson.  My dad lent me his copy "Treasure Island" and "Kidnapped," also by Stevenson, and passed along "Master" at the same time. I've finished the first two.

A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

None. International Collectors Library's beautiful covers are worth holding and savoring, but the contents had better be just as high-caliber.

A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

That's a contradiction in terms -- if I plan on never reading it, it is not "To Be Read," so not on the list, never mind getting as far as the pile.

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for

"The Murder of Mary Russell" by Laurie R. King. I enjoy Mrs. King's series of detective/adventure novels with Mary Russell and her husband, Sherlock Holmes. I'm excited for this one (thanks to Mrs. King's e-mail newsletters) because Mary Russell has been the narrator of all of her previous books in this series... and in the first book, she is approaching 90 years old. She would be in her mid-20s in this book. Something's gotta give, and I'm hoping it's in the tradition of "The Final Problem" and "The Empty House,'" two of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's many masterpieces starring Holmes.

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you

I'm blessed with diverse recommendations -- and "recommenders" -- so I don't have one book on the pile or list that "everyone" is after me to read.

A book on your TBR that everyone has read but you

If "everyone has read it but me," that's not necessarily enough to put it on my list. What if everyone I don't admire has read it? What if everyone tried reading it... and gave up?

A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read

There isn't a particular one right now, or I wouldn't be writing.

How many books are on your TBR shelf?

Who stops to count when there's reading piling up? Priorities! But, since you ask, six.

Who am I tagging? Anyone reading who wants to participate. Just answer the same questions -- in comments or your own blog, if you're writing one.

Margaret Serious has a page on Facebook.

Are you looking for great reading? Get some delivered -- subscribe to Margaret Serious! Just e-mail me at Margaret_H_Laing@Hotmail.com and I'll add you to my select list. I never send spam, and you may unsubscribe at any time.

Comments

Leave a comment
  • For those sustaining books, it would be TBRRRRR....

  • RRRRRRight.

Leave a comment