Concealed Carry, The Beginning of the Process

Concealed Carry, The Beginning of the Process

As many of you may or may not know the Concealed carry legislation has passed in Illinois and the applications for permits will be coming out in January of 2014.

Like many others I have opted to make an effort to get my permit as well as learn more about the entire process that it takes to get my CC card.

Over the next few months I will be putting up my progress of how things are going along and will be doing a full segment on the process of getting your permit.

I will be covering everything from start to finish and cannot wait to start with the proper classes and then qualify at the range.

I have to give a big thank you to Chip Eberhart with Top Shot Academy as well as Diane Schneider from the Hoffman Estates Cabela’s.  The two have formed a partnership to bring the proper schooling and hands-on training for those that are looking to get their permits.

Stay tuned as I go through the process.

Cory Yarmuth


Here is a little background on the new process:

Illinois CCW is Finally Here!

Illinois lawmakers have established a multi-step process for issuing a state permit for carrying a concealed weapon as part of a new law they approved this week.

The law directs authorities to issue permits to any applicant who has a state-issued Firearm Owner's Identification card, passes a background check, undergoes 16 hours of training and pays a $150 fee, or $300 for a non-resident. Illinois State Police have 60 days to set up firearms training courses and list approved courses on the department's website.

Here are details on the permitting process:

  • Illinois State Police officials have six months to set up a concealed carry permit process.
  • After that, state police must approve or deny permits within 90 days of receiving a request.
  • Within 10 days of receiving a request, state police must enter applicant's information into a database, including previous addresses during the past decade.
  • Local law enforcement agencies such as county sheriffs may object to an application within 30 days of database entry
  • Once an application is submitted, state police will begin background checks, including reviews of FBI database, state and local files, including juvenile adjudications and records pertaining to domestic violence, mental health and developmental disabilities.
  • Applicants' fingerprints will be reviewed.
  • A new seven-member licensing review board will rule on any law enforcement objection within a month.

Leave a comment