Chew on This: Gluten Free Chewing Gums

Chew on This: Gluten Free Chewing Gums

Just the sight of it in my son's room reminds me of my ponytail softball days. Who didn't enjoy sticking a huge wad of Big League Chew in their mouth as a kid and chomping away until saliva almost starts dribbling down your chin? As an adult looking for fresh breath after a meal it is not my first chewing gum choice, but I am happy that my son (who is gluten free) can enjoy its shredded chewiness to his heart's content.

When toothbrush and toothpaste are not nearby, chewing on fresh mint, clove (natural options), or a stick of gum can be a good replacement. There is some controversy amongst online newsgroups as to which varieties of chewing gum are gluten free. People have commented about various flavors and varieties causing them abdominal distress. Most chewing gums do contain phenylalenine which is an ingredient in Aspartame and can cause some side effects in people, stomach upset being one of them.

To help get clarification, I went directly to the source and contact various gum manufacturers as to whether or not their chewing gum is gluten free. Here is a list of various brands that are gluten free:

Wrigley manufactures the following brands which are all gluten free.

  • Orbit brand (all flavors)
  • 5 gum (all flavors)
  • Juicy Fruit
  • Big Red
  • Extra (all flavors)
  • Eclipse gum (all flavors)
  • Freedent
  • Spearmint

Kraft acquired Cadbury Adams in February 2010 and now manufactures the following chewing gum brands. Kraft always labels ingredients as well as any potential for cross-contamination. (UPDATE - 6/24/2012: As of January 2012, Kraft customer service reps stated they can not guarantee as gluten free any product containing natural flavoring, artificial flavoring, artificial coloring, or spices due to the fact that these ingredients are coming from different suppliers and may be derived from gluten containing grains).

  • Bubbilicious
  • Chicklets
  • Dentyne
  • Stride
  • Trident (all flavors)

Hershey's manufactures Bubble Yum chewing gum in six flavors. While they do not maintain a list of gluten free products, they do not use gluten in any of their artificial flavors and will call out any gluten ingredients or gluten-derived ingredients right on the label.

And last but not least, all flavors of Big League Chew are gluten free. Prior to January 2011, Big League Chew was manufactured by Wrigley. It is now manufactured by Ford Gum company. They also manufacture many of the bulk gumballs that appear in vending machines nationwide and are gluten free as well.


Leave a comment
  • Great information. Find some information which can be helpful for readers. -

  • Its really useful information.. Thanks for sharing.. For more information about chews Please visit us:

  • Hello,
    I know this is an older post, but hoping you will still see this. My son was just diagnosed with Celiac Disease. How do you know that Wrigley Juicy Fruit gum is gluten free? When I wrote to them, this is what they wrote back:
    Thank you for writing to inquire about ingredients used in Wrigley products.
    All U.S. Wrigley products are labeled in accordance with applicable laws and FDA regulations, including the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004. Any food materials identified as allergens within this Act (milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans) are labeled within the ingredient statement, when present in our products.
    The FDA allows voluntary labeling of “gluten-free” for foods that inherently do not contain gluten or contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten sourced from wheat, rye, barley, and crossbreeds of these grains.
    Our products listed below have been tested to comply with the FDA’s definition of gluten-free and are labeled as “gluten-free” on the package:
    • Skittles® Bite Size Candies
    • Starburst® Fruit Chews
    • Starburst® GummiBursts® Original and Sour Flavors
    Our products listed below contain ingredient(s) derived from wheat or are made on shared equipment that also processes products with wheat and thus may contain gluten. These products are labeled accordingly as containing wheat within the ingredient statement:
    • Altoids® Smalls® Peppermint Mints (contains wheat maltodextrin which is listed in the ingredient statement)
    • Lucas® and Skwinkles® Branded Candy Strips (contains wheat flour and wheat fiber which are listed in the ingredient statements)
    The rest of our products have not been tested to be labeled as “gluten-free”. If your sensitivity extends to other types of gluten or if you are extremely sensitive to gluten sourced from wheat, rye, barley or crossbreeds of these grains, then you may want to consult with your physician prior to consuming our products.
    We hope this information has been helpful. If you have any additional questions or comments please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.
    Megan Anderson
    Customer Care Representative

Leave a comment