Start planning for Movies in the Park

Start planning for Movies in the Park

It's officially summer in the city; the Chicago Park District just released the 2012 movies in the park schedule. I'm so psyched. I always felt like Movies in the Park was one of the most underrated Chicago events. A) You get to see great movies. B)It's free. C) Picnic! (And if you accidentally pack one of those wine juice boxes in your picnic, nothing wrong with that.)

Kicking off on June 11, Movies in the Park features 176 screenings throughout the summer. Click here for the official list. I have to say that I'm quite pleased with the line-up, although I would have liked a little more variety. For some reason "Dolphin Tale" and "Hugo" are being way overplayed this season. I don't know if it's just me, but I don't want to see movies that have just come out of the theater. I think it's more fun to watch those old favorites that haven't been on the big screen for awhile.

Check out the movie list yourself, but here are my top picks:

"Some Like It Hot"
Montgomery Ward Park   
Tuesday, June 12
**I've never seen this one, so I'm so excited!

"Ferris Bueller's Day Off"
Churchill Field Park      
Thursday, June 14

"The Sandlot"
Oz Park                                          
Saturday, June 16

"A League of Their Own"
Chicago History Museum          
Wednesday, June 20

"Grease"
Taylor-Lauridsen Park                
Friday, June 22

"Cabaret"
Osterman Beach                            
Friday, June 22

"Rookie of the Year"
Humboldt Park: Lil Cubs Field   
Saturday, July 7

"The Wiz"
Columbus Park                              
Friday, July 6

"E.T."
Emmerson Park                             
Sunday, July 15

"Little Big League"
Brands Park                                    
Wednesday, August 1

"Chicago"
Harold Washington Park             
Tuesday, August 21

"Singin' in the Rain"
Belmont Harbor                            
Monday, August 13

"Rent"
South Shore Cultural Center      
Wendesday, August 22

"The Wizard of Oz"
Oz Park                                           
Saturday, August 25
***Did you know that the Wizard of Oz was written in Chicago?

"Chocolat"
Douglas Park    
Friday, September 14
***Best way to end the movie season.

Leave a comment