The Chicago Reporter Wins 8 Lisagor Awards

The Chicago Reporter won eight Lisagor Awards Friday night honoring exemplary reporting, design, graphics and photography in 2011.

The awards were established by the Chicago Headline Club in 1977 to recognize top-notch journalism in Chicago and were named in honor of Peter Lisagor, one of the country's most respected journalists who died in 1976.

In-Depth Reporting

  • Out at First, Angela Caputo, Kimbriell Kelly, Dylan Cinti and Alexis Pope.

    If a CHA resident is arrested one time, the tenant is sent to eviction court. But a Chicago Reporter analysis found that the policy separates families and ousts some who were never convicted of breaking the law.

  • Without a Smoking Gun, Angela Caputo, Kimbriell Kelly, Phil Jacobson, Samantha Winslow.

    Illinois is looking to crack down on gun crimes by sending more 15- and 16-year-olds into adult court. But a Chicago Reporter investigation raises questions over whether the youth headed to lockup are the hardened criminals politicians intended to put away.

Business Reporting

  • Loopholes, Angela Caputo, Kimbriell Kelly, Jeff Kelly Lowenstein and Louis McGill.

    Nearly $1 billion has been spent in the name of reversing blight in the Loop. But Chicagoans are still losing their jobs.

  • Empty Jackpot, Megan Cottrell, Rui Kaneya, Samuel Charles, Dylan Cinti, Caitlin Huston and Alexis Pope.

    Illinois celebrates its program to steer state contracts to businesses owned by minorities, women and people with a disability. But a closer look shows the state may not be fulfilling its goals.

Public Affairs Programming

  • Tasha Ransom, Kimbriell Kelly, Nancy Langfels, Jay Sondheimer, Suzanne Dumetz-Cole and Russ Sherman, WPWR-TV and The Chicago Reporter: Living with ADHD


  • Joe Gallo and Jason Reblando: “Secure Communities”


  • Christine Wachter: “Loopholes, Empty Jackpot and The Allure of Secure”


  • Christine Wachter: “Double whammy, On their way out, Securing the country from immigrants”

Leave a comment