Brian Urlacher Recipient of Ed Block Courage Award

Brian Urlacher Recipient of Ed Block Courage Award

LAKE FOREST, IL – Chicago Bears LB Brian Urlacher was voted as the team’s recipient of the 2011 Ed Block Courage Award today. The prestigious award is presented to one player on all 32 NFL teams who best exemplifi es a commitment to sportsmanship and courage and serves as an inspiration in the locker room. The awards recipients, who are voted for by their teammates, symbolize professionalism, great strength and dedication, and they are considered community role models.

The cornerstone of the Bears defense since arriving in Chicago in 2000, Urlacher is the all-time franchise leader in tackles (1,648). He is one of just four players in NFL history to record 40-plus sacks (since 1982) and 20-plus interceptions during their career. His three interceptions this season are tied for the most in the NFL among linebackers and third in franchise history among linebackers. His 41.5 career sacks are seventh in franchise history and tops among Bears linebackers.

In 11 starts during the 2011 season, Urlacher is second on the team with 92 tackles, tied for the team lead with three interceptions, six tackles for losses and two fumble recoveries. He has also added his fourth career touchdown on a 12-yard fumble return.

Ed Block was a long-time head trainer with the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his fi eld. The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation promotes the prevention of child abuse by raising awareness of the epidemic and assisting agencies that provide for the care and treatment of abused children in communities throughout the NFL.

The Chicago Bears Courage House is Maryville Academy’s Crisis Nursery. The designation was made thanks to the leadership and support provided by late Bears Chairman Ed McCaskey. A luncheon is held each spring to honor the current Bears recipient and to benefi t the Ed McCaskey Scholarship Fund which assists Maryville’s educational programs.

The Ed Block Courage Award has been given annually to a player on each team in the NFL since 1984. Current Bears who have won the award include G/C Roberto Garza (2004 with Atlanta), CB Charles Tillman (2008), Israel Idonije (2009), DT Anthony Adams (2010), WR Sam Hurd (2010 with Dallas), offensive line coach Mike Tice (1986 with Seattle) and assistant defensive backs/safeties coach Gill Byrd (1988 with San Diego).

Filed under: Players

Tags: Brian Urlacher

Leave a comment