The Walter Payton Man of the Year Award winners

walter payton award.jpg

The Walter Payton Man of the Year Award

Today marks the 11th anniversary of Walter Payton's death in 1999. Many of us know where we were when we heard the news. It was a sad day in Chicago and the NFL.

Shortly, after Walter died, the NFL promptly changed the name of the NFL Man of the Year Award to the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award.

Here the players who have one since the award was renamed:

2009 - Brian Waters, Guard, Kansas City Chiefs

2008 - Kurt Warner, Quarterback, Arizona Cardinals

2007 - Jason Taylor, Defensive End, Miami Dolphins

2006 - Drew Brees, Quarterback, New Orleans Saints and LaDainian Tomlinson, Running Back, San Diego Chargers

2005 - Peyton Manning, Quarterback, Indianapolis Colts

2004 - Warrick Dunn, Running Back, Atlanta Falcons

2003 - Will Shields, Guard, Kansas City Chiefs

2002 - Troy Vincent, Cornerback, Philadelphia Eagles

2001 - Jerome Bettis, Running Back, Pittsburgh Steelers

2000 - Derrick Brooks, Linebacker, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
and Jim Flanigan, Defensive Line, Chicago Bears

1999 - Cris Carter, Wide Receiver, Minnesota Vikings

Here's what Commissioner Roger Goodell had to say on Twitter today:

son @paytonsun had me on his radio show today. I told him that he, his
mom Connie and sister Brittney will always be special to me

honor Walter's contributions & those of the top current players w/
the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award. KC's Brian Waters won in '09

We miss Walter very much but we can all carry on and make our contributions which would make him proud.

is tops on my list because of how he played the game- he never wanted
to let anyone down- but also for what he did off the field

Today marks the 11th anniversary of the death of Walter Payton, one of the all-time great players and men in NFL history

Filed under: 4th Phase, Bear Down

Tags: walter payton


Leave a comment

  • ChicagoNow is full of win

    Welcome to ChicagoNow.

    Meet our bloggers,
    post comments, or
    pitch your blog idea.

  • Advertisement:
  • Meet The Blogger


    The Chicago Bears need all four phases (offense, defense, special teams and the fans) of the game to work together to pave the way to victory. This is the unofficial 4th Phase blog. You can follow the blog on Twitter, @4thPhase or #4thPhase.

  • Get Your Bears App for iPad

    The Tribune's iPad app covers the Bears, with features including Matt Bowen's "Progression," Don Pierson's histories of Bears' opponents, players pages, video, fantasy football and more. Download here.
  • Instagram
  • Verizon Voices

  • Recent posts

  • Tags

  • Categories

  • Monthly Archives

  • Latest on ChicagoNow

  • Advertisement: